Department of Defense (DoD)

FEMA Bulletin Week of July 31, 2017

Seal of the Department of Homeland Security

FEMA BULLETIN

Week of July 31, 2017

View as Webpage | Subscribe

In this Edition:
external-side-left_original.jpg
external-body-top2_original.jpg

Important Dates & Deadlines

August 14 Regulatory Reform Open Comment Period Deadline
August 15: 2018 National Emergency Management Executive Academy Application Deadline 2018 National Emergency Management Executive Academy Application Deadline
August 23: Draft Policy on Floodplain Development Open Comment Period Deadline Draft Policy on Floodplain Development Open Comment Period Deadline
August 29: FEMA Tribal Outreach and Consultation Period Deadline on FEMA Tribal Consultation Policy FEMA Tribal Outreach and Consultation Period Deadline on FEMA Tribal Consultation Policy

Webinar: Lessons Learned and Best Practices for Hazard Mitigation Assistance Program Grants Application

In preparation for the upcoming fiscal year’s Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) Hazard Mitigation Assistance (HMA) open application period, FEMA announced an upcoming webinar for prospective applications. The next webinar is about lessons learned and best practices for applying for a Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA) and Pre-Disaster Mitigation (PDM) grants.

FEMA will present an overview of the results of the FY 2016 mitigation grant cycle, with a focus on common issues and best practices identified across all project types with an in-depth overview of the innovative Drought and Flood Mitigation Projects such as Green Infrastructure, Aquifer Storage and Recovery, Flood Diversion and Storage, and Floodplain and Stream Restoration. In addition, at a later date, FEMA will announce future webinars for first-time users of the Mitigation eGrants System and how to apply for a grant through this online management tool.

This 90-minute webinar will be offered twice and prospective applicants may attend either session:

– Wednesday, August 2 from 2 – 3:30 p.m. Eastern Time (1 p.m. Central, 12 p.m. Mountain, 11 a.m. Pacific)

Thursday, August 3, at 12 p.m. Eastern Time (11 a.m. Central, 10 a.m. Mountain, 9 a.m. Pacific).

To participate, use this link to join: https://fema.connectsolutions.com/hma-tips. For audio, call 1-800-320-4330 and enter conference code 082480 for Wednesday’s session and 787118 for session on Thursday.

FEMA will open the FY17 application period on August 14, 2017. Eligible applicants must apply for funding through the Mitigation eGrants system on the FEMA Grants Portal accessible at https://portal.fema.gov. All applications must be submitted no later than 3 p.m. Eastern Time on November 14, 2017.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s